Home > Uncategorized > Sunday Screening #5: Some Like It Hot

Sunday Screening #5: Some Like It Hot

Here’s a special sort of ridiculousness for all you Screeners out there.  Just like last time, the trailer is attached to the end.  I hope you enjoy!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Addie
    December 10, 2009 at 7:33 PM

    Hahahah

    “Notoriously, Marilyn Monroe had tro…




    …trouble remembering her lines”.

    Nice work there. But seriously, come on Nate, I thought you could do better… Where were the boobs?

    • December 10, 2009 at 7:59 PM

      I did some boob tests, but felt they weren’t up to the quality of the production (and that’s saying a lot), so I decided not to push it. It was a weird morning in my apartment…

      • December 11, 2009 at 12:59 PM

        I LOVE the video, but I don’t love that I’ve read this comment, and it’s now burned an image into my mind that I cannot remove.

        • December 11, 2009 at 2:43 PM

          I won’t even tell you all the various items I tested out for boobs.

          • December 11, 2009 at 2:52 PM

            Please tell me it’s in the blooper reel!

  2. johnwm1
    December 10, 2009 at 9:20 PM

    This site has been taken to a whole new level.

    Very well done, Nate. Truly hilarious stuff. If I had a hat, it would go off to you.

  3. Andy
    December 11, 2009 at 7:58 AM

    That’s freaking great! Shaving a beard like the one you had going really shows your commitment.

  4. December 11, 2009 at 2:44 PM

    Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad that my efforts weren’t for naught. Hat tip to Andy for supplying the vibrating phone sound effect (he called me).

  5. December 11, 2009 at 3:20 PM

    Placeslost :

    Please tell me it’s in the blooper reel!

    Sorry, buddy. That was all off-camera, in-mirror testing. If only…

  6. December 13, 2009 at 10:11 PM

    I’d seen Some Like It Hot once before and was left feeling lukewarm about it, so I was excited to revisit it to see if my reaction would change. Sadly, it hasn’t. I don’t know if it’s my general dislike of Marilyn Monroe or an aversion for the madcap nature of the film (though I doubt it’s the latter), but I just get bored with it.

    I’m on-board at the outset. The script does a great job of setting up in a realistic way of how Joe and Jerry end up in drag in an all women’s band. The sleeper car scene is a lot of fun and reminds me of the State Room scene in the Marx Brothers “A Night at the Opera.”

    However, when the film separates Joe and Jerry (or Josephine and Daphne), I lose interest. The chemistry between Curtis and Lemmon is the highlight of the film and so much of the film is them going in different directions (though it’s very enjoyable to see Lemmon go from hating his date to being over-the-moon and engaged).

    The film wraps up pretty nicely, with only one bit of huge coincidence pushing it to the climax, but that can be forgiven. And the last line is pretty great, even though I think most of us new it already. It’s the happiness in the delivery that sells it.

    Overall, I don’t really dislike the film, but I definitely don’t find it to be anywhere near the funniest film of the era, and especially of all-time.

    What do you guys think?

  7. johnwm1
    December 13, 2009 at 11:43 PM

    I really enjoyed Some Like It Hot. I was laughing frequently as I watched it and admired the film’s cleverness and boldness. I think the dialogue throughout the film is often wittiness at its best, and is one of the main things that elevates this film above other comedies I’ve seen of the period (I’ll admit, not many).

    Also, the fact that it explores fairly subversive themes (mainly ruthless murder and unbridled lust) makes it particularly interesting. I was surprised at how dark some of the mob scenes were, and I was equally surprised by how lecherously the character of Jerry was portrayed (for its time). It’s obvious to us now that it’s all in good fun, but I can see why this film was banned and helped bring the end to the Production Code, as Nate (Natalie?) explained in the video intro.

    My favorite comic sequence of the film begins when Joe and Jerry first arrive at the Florida hotel, fend off various potential male suitors, then spar with each other on the beach and back at the hotel. The comic tension exhibited between the two is indeed one of the film’s strengths, and nowhere is it greater than when Joe puts on his Cary Grant millionaire yacht captain persona, causing Jerry to be insanely jealous. His reactions to the situation are just priceless. Joe emerging from the bathtub in his yacht captain clothes near the end of the sequence is also a great moment.

    Marilyn Monroe’s limits as an actress are fairly plain to see here, but I think she put in a great effort. The fact that her character pokes fun at Monroe’s public image as a bit of a bimbo (“Not so bright!”) is a wise move.

    My only real complaint of the film is the fact that the “Friends of Italian Opera” meeting is taking place at the same exact hotel Joe and Jerry are staying at. I was surprised that such an obvious contrivance was shoehorned into the story like that. Joe and Jerry clearly needed to have a final showdown with the mob somehow, but it should’ve been organic to the story.

    The fact that Some Like It Hot deals with men dressing as women, and the resulting implications of that to the film’s story and themes, in 1959 is definitely a big part of why the film makes so many all-time lists, but I also think it’s a sharply written and highly entertaining comedy with memorable characters, situations, and dialogue. It has bold content, but more importantly, it does something of very high quality with it.

    • December 14, 2009 at 5:02 PM

      I really can’t disagree with anything you say. It is very well written with insanely clever dialogue. I don’t know what it is, but I feel like films these days to pay such close attention to witty dialogue. There are exceptions, but I rarely leave thinking about that aspect of the film, whereas in older movies, I’m always usually impressed.

      The Cary Grant imitation is pretty great, but I caught myself thinking that I’d like to actually see Cary Grant in that role. I think it’s because Tony Curtis always seemed a bit effeminate to me, so when he’s in drag, I believe it more than when he’s dressed as a millionaire playboy.

      I’ll admit to being a little surprised by the stuff they were getting away with, especially with some of the double entendres.

      The moment when Curtis gets out of the tub fully clothed is a great surprising moment.

      I wish I liked Some Like It Hot more. I guess once they meet Sugar, it feels a bit familiar. Like a tweak on The Philadelphia Story (which I love).

      One last note: Jack Lemmon’s smile is almost demonic. I felt like he was the Joker at times.

      • johnwm1
        December 15, 2009 at 2:31 PM

        About your first point, I think the fall of the Production Code may have contributed to comedies relying less on wit and double entendres, and more on less subtle forms of humor. Not to be too cynical, but swearing and “crass” humor, however that is defined, gets a faster reaction out of the majority of people than snappy dialogue, and it’s also significantly easier to write.

        This is not to say that modern comedies aren’t witty, of course. But I do think that they are less theatrical than Some Like It Hot and other films of its era, in that the dialogue of films since then veers more toward naturalism, as opposed to showy flourishes more commonly seen in classic theater. These are broad generalizations, but I think the trends are there.

        I haven’t seen The Philadelphia Story yet, so I’m curious about this comparison. Perhaps a good contender for a future Sunday Screening.

        Jack Lemmon’s smile is indeed Joker-ish. I found him endlessly entertaining in this (but I can’t think of a comedy I’ve seen him in where he’s not).

  8. Virginia
    December 16, 2009 at 3:50 PM

    I’ll leap into your discussions, Nate, if only to get some girl presence. The cross-dressing works to put one person in another’s shoes (literally)–in a much more subtle way than Tootsie or Mrs. Doubtfire. For me, the whole wonderful film is summed up in Joe E. Brown’s final line: after all the craziness, there’s more to come, but “nobody’s perfect.” What wondrous craziness.

  9. December 18, 2009 at 11:44 AM

    It’s always nice to have a new voice here, and a member of the opposite gender, at that! For some reason, that’s a demographic that’s been missing since Singin’ in the Rain.

    I think you are spot on with the line “nobody’s perfect.” Even Sugar is willing to settle for less, in the end. And no matter how strict Sweet Sue is about professionalism, it’s pretty much regarded that the group is less than stellar.

    The cross-dressing absolutely works better than those other movies. I think this is because we know that it’s a last resort and the characters aren’t convinced it will work themselves. Other films just kind of take for granted that people will go along with the plot and not develop the reasons as well as Some Like It Hot.

  10. Virginia
    December 22, 2009 at 11:24 AM

    I don’t think its about “settling for less” but recognizing that NOTHING can be perfect, and we’re lucky to even get close–so Joe E. Brown is happy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

