Home > Uncategorized > 2/7/2010 Sunday Screening #12: Magnolia

2/7/2010 Sunday Screening #12: Magnolia

Being the first Monday of the month of February, we’re going with another deviation from the standard “classics.”  While it’s not necessarily a modern classic, Magnolia fits the bill as a modern cult classic.  Paul we be here soon with a video, but for now, prepare yourself for Sunday and enjoy the trailer!  At the very least, there should be a lot to talk about.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Rob
    February 4, 2010 at 8:39 AM

    You know, I’m actually not surprised people didn’t go see that movie after watching the trailer.

  2. February 4, 2010 at 12:59 PM

    I couldn’t find the real trailer, so I had to settle on the teaser. But yeah, I guess that type of teaser could only work with an all A-List cast instead of a bunch of character actors. Perfect for the Upcoming Valentine’s Day…

  3. February 8, 2010 at 2:21 PM

    I actually watched this one on time, but after the 3 hour run-time was up, I had to get into Super Bowl mode so I couldn’t post thoughts.

    Anyway, I had trouble staying focused on the film because I knew I was in for a long haul. I thought all of the stories were well acted, shot, and written, but there was just too much. I think this was made worse by the fact that I didn’t understand why any of the stories were being told. The intro that talks about “chance” seems to only serve as a reason for the existence of the rest of the movie and especially the frog raining stuff, which doesn’t really work for me. Sure, there were a bunch of coincidences and overlapping themes, but the way the story was set up, I thought everything was going to come together at the end, even if it was in a Trois Colours (the Kieslowski trilogy) sort of way.

    One thing I found pretty odd was that I hated Julianne Moore’s performance and enjoyed Tom Cruise. I think the latter can be explained by the fact that that is how I believe Tom Cruise really is, just substitute Scientology in for misogynist speechifying. Also, 1999 seems to be the year of Tom Cruise trying to reinvent himself with this and Eyes Wide Shut.

    I liked the movie, but it’s hard to say I’m going to revisit it anytime soon.

  4. February 10, 2010 at 9:12 AM

    I also felt like the film was a bit on the long side. I don’t know what caused it, but something happened to me about 5 years ago that rendered me nearly inable to sit at home and watch a 3 hour movie. There are many that I like, but for some reason the time commitment just seems to be more then I can make. I thought this film was good, but I question the reason it was so long.

    I like your point about Tom Cruise. I think you are right, if you watch some of those Scientology video clips that leaked out, you see that he very much is the fanatic nutcase.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

