Home > Uncategorized > Sunday Screening #24: Sólo Con Tu Pareja

Sunday Screening #24: Sólo Con Tu Pareja

Today is Cinco De Mayo, which if you weren’t aware (I had to doublecheck my facts online) is a celebration that commemorates the Mexican army’s unlikely victory over French forces at the Battle of Puebla. Considering I went through several Texas History classes (which are mandatory here in 7th and 10th grade) and currently live with a Texas History teacher, I should probably know that. But anyways, in honor of the holiday we here at Sunday Screenings are going to celebrate the only way we know how…a theme screening. I really enjoyed Children of Men, so I thought that using this as a chance to watch an earlier film by Alfonso Cuaron was a perfect chance to catch up on some Mexican Cinema.

Hope you all enjoy the film.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. LMM
    May 11, 2010 at 10:46 AM

    Once again, I’m behind in watching the film. However, according to my Netflicks rating, I rated this with 4 stars….but I don’t remember the movie.

    Will be watching it soon. Promise.

  2. May 12, 2010 at 7:50 PM

    No wonder Mediterranean countries can’t get their act together financially; the people there are too busy having sex!

    Just kidding. And I only meant that in the same spirit of comedy that this film embraces throughout. I definitely enjoyed it – it was breezy, but it had its somber moments, definitely, what with the subject matter of AIDS and people trying to take their own lives. The classical music score also helped balance out the lighter bits as well.

    In short, a very well-balanced comedy, that had both hilarious situations and character-based humor, as well as a genuine emotional pull. I haven’t seen too many Alfonso Cuarón films (I did see Children of Men, and I agree with Paul as many others did that it’s excellent), but seeing Solo Con Tu Paresa makes me want to see more of his films.

  3. LMM
    May 13, 2010 at 7:33 AM

    Okay, still haven’t rewatched it (today, i swear), but Curaon is one of my favorite directors!
    You must see: Y Tu Mama, Tambien. Not to mention he did the 3rd Harry Potter (my personal favorite). The Little Princess is a sweet adaptation also.

    I would love to be in a room with Curaon, del Toro and Inarritu! All brilliant men!

  4. LMM
    May 13, 2010 at 10:59 AM

    Yep, love this film. I pretty much love any and all Cuaron films.

    I agree with John about the music. I loved how the music countered the funny elements of the film, and yet also complimented the serious situations dealt with at the end.

    You have to think, for 1991, the subject of AIDS was a risky venture. Especially since at that time it was considered a gay disease. I enjoyed how they weren’t all fire and brimstone with the subject matter, it really could happen to anyone, and how life altering it is.

    There were so many scenes that just made me smile. Smile cause you love the characters and you can almost feel their connection with each other, the chemistry. My favorite scene being the one when Tomas comes into Teresa’s apartment to talk about Clarise, but she’s already there. When Tomas and Clarise are left alone to talk, the silence, the connection between them was amazing. In most situations like that you feel embarrassed for the character, you feel their pain. In this scene, you felt open and happy. Like there was a possibility we yet didn’t know about.

    Unlikely love story.

    Question. Do you think he bought the condom to cheat?
    I personally like to think he bought it for the Mile-High club with his wife, but you know. I’m a girl. I like to think we have power over our men.

    • May 14, 2010 at 3:18 PM

      I definitely agree that the film is ahead of its time for tackling the subject of AIDS in a comedic way, and not including any mention of the homosexual associations with the disease at the time. A great point.

      I wouldn’t be surprised if he bought the condom to cheat, considering he does have a pretty strong play-the-field attitude, but it could work either way in the story.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

